Sunak carries out Whitehall shake-up as he reshuffles ministers

Rishi Sunak has carried out a sweeping shake-up of Whitehall with the creation of four new Government departments aimed at boosting economic growth and addressing the energy crisis.

The Prime Minister replaced sacked Tory party chairman Nadhim Zahawi with Greg Hands, who had been trade minister.

But the main element of the reshuffle saw the business, trade and culture departments restructured into four different ministries.

Grant Shapps, who had been business secretary, will now be the Energy Security and Net Zero Secretary.

Kemi Badenoch, who was international trade secretary, will now lead the joint Department for Business and Trade.

Lucy Frazer joins the Cabinet as Culture Secretary in a department which has been shorn of its responsibility for digital technology, but will instead focus on the creative arts and sport.

Michelle Donelan moves from culture to the new Department for Science, Innovation and Technology.

Downing Street said that the creation of four new departments would “ensure the right skills and teams are focused on the Prime Minister’s five promises”.

A new Department for Energy Security and Net Zero will be tasked with securing the UK’s long-term energy supply, as well as “bringing down bills and halving inflation”.

A new Department for Science, Innovation and Technology meanwhile will “drive the innovation that will deliver improved public services, create new and better-paid jobs and grow the economy”.

The Department for Business and Trade will “support growth by backing British businesses at home and abroad, promoting investment and championing free trade”, while the new-look Department for Culture, Media and Sport will “recognise the importance of these industries to our economy and build on the UK’s position as a global leader in the creative arts”.

Mr Hands said he is “excited” to get started in his new role.

He tweeted: “I joined the Party in 1986 – a ward chairman in 1992, a councillor in 1998, a Group Leader in 1999, an MP in 2005, a Minister in 2011 – an honour to chair it in 2023!

“The work starts right away.”

Meanwhile, Mr Shapps tweeted to say he is “delighted” to head up the new department.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *